Why become a Marine Officer?

I’ve wanted to be a soldier for most of my life.  When I was a five-year-old, my mother asked me what I wanted to do when I was grown up.  My childish reply was that I wanted to “be a shoulder!” Now, I am grown and have the opportunity to act on that dream.  I know what being a Marine entails, and am still 100% committed to being an officer.  Being a soldier is a more physically and mentally demanding than usual civilian life.  As a manly individual, I crave this lifestyle.  As a very patriotic American, I want to serve my great nation.  As a highly confident and proud individual, I am attracted to the Marines, where greatest challenge and greatest honor meet.

3 comments on “Why become a Marine Officer?

  1. Jake says:

    Manlypat,

    I go in for my med check tomorrow. You and I may just go into OCC at the same time. It looks like I will go January 12, 09. I am excited. I am actually in a PhD program, but like you, I have grown weary of the malignant narcists around me. While getting my degree will guarantee me a easy life, I want to dabble in existential things for a while, like life, death, trial, struggle… I want, when I return to the civilian world, to be able to look a selfish/self-loathing in the eye and with authority that they are twits and need to grow a pair, man up, and live!

    See you in Quantico.

    Jake Freeman

  2. manlypat says:

    Nice! I definitely feel ya.

    Actually I’ll go in for the fall OCC in 2009. Let me know how it goes for you though, and good luck!

    Coming back from the Corps, be ready to stand head and shoulders above the rest of our generation, even more. The character failure of our peers is pathetic.

  3. Baba says:

    Thanks for writing this.

Leave a Reply

