Medical Examination, Check

Yesterday I woke at 0400 (courtesy of 5 alarms) and drove down to Pittsburgh’s Federal Building for morning-long physical exams.  With about 35 other young prospects for all branches, I got my blood drawn, took eye tests, hearing tests, a really fun urine test where they watched me and 3 other guys pee into our cups at the same time to ensure no cheating, and got a comprehensive sports-type physical from a doctor.  We had to do some weird things like demonstrate we could walk around squatting like a baseball catcher.  Most of the morning (this ended about 11am) was waiting, filling out paperwork, or getting awkward and/or invasive testing and probing.  Most of the waiting itself was with a bunch of other males in our underwear in a big cold air-conditioned room.  Of course we were all starving from not eating all morning, too.
The Vitruvian Man represents a physical.

But could I complain?  Heck no.  First off, I passed everything in my physical with flying colors.  Even remember some of my numbers:
eyes: 20/16rt, 20/25lft
pulse: 61
blood pressure: 105/56

Secondly, I was finally doing something official in my journey to becoming a Marine Officer.  I was surrounded by other military-minded young men.  The group of us talked quite a bit; the excitement level was clearly high, as many of them were swearing-in in a ceremony that afternoon.  Everyone was manly like me, patriotic like me, and eager for challenge, violence, and duty.  Talk about a thrill to be with young men of my own quality!  College can never be strictly lonely with all my friends here; but sometimes, all the nerds, selfish, apathetic people, and effeminate males make me frustrated.  Most guys here either seem to be getting fat living in front of a screen; or are pathetic in their own insecurity about their stunted, confusing (to them) masculinity; or only live for a never-ending chain of one narcissistic pleasure after another.  Sad.  And unlike me.  Being in the band of brothers will be glorious.

Lastly, I couldn’t complain because out of all the kids there I was one of only a few Marine candidates; and out of all the kids, I was the only officer candidate.  I don’t know how, but just being an officer candidate made me proud in that sea of new enlistees.  Being an officer and a leader is a very exciting goal and I am proud of it, and it’s that simple I suppose.

I realize I veered a little off my goal of strictly providing other officer candidates a roadmap, but hopefully my enthusiasm isn’t useless either.  

Here is a link to a much more complete run-down of the medical examination (physical) process.  Enjoy.

 

3 comments on “Medical Examination, Check

  1. jadedwon says:

    I’m so excited for you… I can’t wait till you swear in!! You’ll see more and more division between the branches amongst the recruits as you go along. The other branches are afraid of the DevilDawgs!! Semper FI!!!!

  2. manlypat says:

    Thanks so much! I didn’t see your comment from September until right now–when I checked my spam folder! Great links, I will check them out.

Leave a Reply

