TBS Graduation

I did it! After a long six months, I have graduated The Basic School. I loved learning and practicing infantry platoon leader skills (almost always) but am glad to no longer be a student there. On to bigger and better things at flight school in Pensacola!

Graduation Ceremony Opening

This concludes my journey from Civilian to Marine Officer. This will be my last post.

For now I will be leaving my blog up, but not forever.

Thanks to everyone who encouraged and followed through OCS particularly, and all 150,000 visitors to this site! Thanks to all the current Marines who became friends from reading my blog; good job on making it through OCC 202 with me, and for most of you, through TBS now as well. See you in the fleet.

Semper Fidelis

My platoon at TBS

8 comments on “TBS Graduation

  1. Dan Schutte says:

    Congrats, Lt. Weeks!

    Your perseverance has paid off. Thanks again for sharing your journey with us. I have my packet in for the October OCC this Fall. What type of aircraft are you hoping to fly after flight school? I wanted to fly jets when I was younger, but with slots slim to none until about 2012, and as an older applicant, I am contracted as Ground. Good luck in Pensacola!

  2. Elizabeth Davis says:

    Congratulations Lt Weeks,
    I’ve enjoyed reading your blog. Good luck in flight school and whatever else you do in the Corps.

    Semper Fi

  3. Lee says:

    Congratulations, Lieutenant Weeks!

    I’ve followed your blog really closely (I’m a PLC candidate headed to Juniors next summer). You should definitely keep the blog up, it has been tremendously helpful for me and I know it is beneficial to other potential officers as well.

    Good luck at Pensacola, sir.

    Semper Fi.

  4. the Duke says:

    I am very happy for you man! Cant believe six months has passed already! Good luck in P-Cola, I’ve heard the wait is quite exhaustive (6 months more or less.) This blog has helped me out TREMENDOUSLY!! Congrats again and good luck!!

  5. Victoria says:

    Lieutenant Weeks,

    Thank you for this blog, it has been a tremendous help! I hope to be going to the Naval Academy for my commission in the Marine Corps and later heading to Pensacola myself. I’m going the jets pipeline hopefully but helos are cool too. Anyway you’ve been a real role model for me and I just wanted to say thanks. Good luck at Pensacola sir.

    Semper Fly 🙂

  6. Caleb says:

    Marine,

    I just found your blog while I was looking for links for my own blog. I was just Not Selected by the August 2011 selection board for the October 2011 OCC, but I’m now working to be selected for the January 2012 class. Incidentally, I am also going to be an Air candidate.

    I saw your note that you will not be leaving this blog up forever, and I just wanted to encourage you to leave it up for a really long time, instead! I understand that there may be reasons you need to take it down, of course, but for as long as you can leave it up, the better, in my humble opinion.

    Congratulations on your success transitioning from a Civilian to a Marine Officer, and thank you for all your information on this blog.

    -Caleb.

  7. Mike Loyd says:

    Hey, I recognize some of the turds…JK

    Mike Loyd
    Echo Co 2010

  8. David Haas says:

    Hi,
    I have a quick question about your blog, do you think you could email me?
    David

Leave a Reply

